The Price of Memory: After the Tsunami

The Price of Memory is a collection of 63 poems. The poems in vivid imagery uncover what happens when the pleasurable thrill of being alive is lost in the pain that settles among the familiar and refuses to say goodbye, as in the poems ‘Baggage’ and ‘Maybe.’ The subject of memory, remembrance and forgetfulness resound throughout the collection, from the private nostalgic experiences in ‘Wastelands,’ ‘The Island,’ to the collective ‘Africa re-disappointed,’ ‘Borderless Africa,’ and ‘Child of the Universe.’

Purchase from a retailer:

Additional information


Author Picture

Mildred Kiconco Barya

Mildred Kiconco Barya is a writer and poet from Uganda. She was awarded the 2008 Pan African Literary Forum Prize for Africana Fiction, and earlier gained recognition for her poetry, particularly her first two collections, Men Love Chocolates But They Don’t Say (2002) and The Price of Memory: After the Tsunami (2006).

Leave a Reply

Comments (